The Bruce Trilogy 1

  • by Nigel Tranter
  • Narrated by Michael Elder
  • 2 hrs and 47 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The compelling story of Scotland's hero-king who, tutored and encouraged by the great William Wallace, united his despairing people in a deadly fight for the throne and national survival. In the first of this best selling trilogy, Nigel Tranter charts these turbulent years, revealing the flowering of Bruce's character, sustained by a passionate love, not only of his land and people, but...


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Bruce Trilogy 1: The Steps to the Empty Throne

This trilogy tells the story of Robert the Bruce and how, tutored and encouraged by the heroic William Wallace,he determined to continue the fight for an independent Scotland, sustained by a passionate love for his land. Nigel Tranter succeeds admirably in bringing the story of Robert I - Scotland's greatest King - to life. Not only is his historical research near flawless, but the book is graced by that indisputable mark of a great story teller the reader is wholly absorbed into the world of the Bruce and his friends. Tranter also manages to draw a whole mixture of feelings from his readers - love, hatred, admiration and even that strange mixture of respect and disgust for Edward I that Bruce himself is said to have harbored. Nigel Tranter he is one of Scotland's most prolific and respected writers. He has an amazingly broad grip of Scottish history' ? He is an accomplished writer of compelling and unforgettable historical novels' With his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes Scotland 'Tranter's popularity lies in his knack of making historical events immediate and exciting. These audio books are very amazing story tale with nice pace of thoughts and free flow of story line. This audio book is nice story telling style. I was most certainly not disappointed.
Read full review

- Lavina

great story but why the music and sound effects?

great book but irritating music between chapters and sound effect. not needed at all and spoils it
Read full review

- B W.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-09-2008
  • Publisher: Tele-A-Vision Television