The Gunpowder Plot: History in an Hour : History in an Hour

  • by Sinead Fitzgibbon
  • Narrated by Jonathan Keeble
  • Series: History in an Hour
  • 1 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

‘Remember, remember, the fifth of November’. The gunpowder plot is a famed tale of treachery that continues to fascinate and capture the imagination four hundred years on.
The Gunpowder Plot in an Hour reveals the elaborate background to the infamous plot to blow up the Houses of Parliament and James I, the ultimate act of treason. This compelling and engaging account of one of the most famous historical events in English history follows the Catholic protagonists hatching their plan through to their inevitable, gruesome deaths.
Learn who the Catholic traitors were, what drove them to such desperate measures, and how the plot was discovered. The Gunpowder Plot in an Hour gives a concise overview of this enduring event and is a must for all history lovers. Love history? Know your stuff with History in an Hour…


What the Critics Say

“If the past is a foreign country, History in an Hour is like a high-class tour operator, offering delightfully enjoyable short breaks in the rich and diverse continent of our shared past” (Dominic Sandbrook)
“The practice of History is ever-evolving, and the History In An Hour idea brings it back up to date for the digital age” ( Andrew Roberts, Bookseller)
“This is genius” (


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A timely listen

A timely listen, given the recent attack on Westminster. I'm not sure if there are parallels to be drawn between the two instances but it certainly has given pause for thought.

Interesting too to get some more detailed background on Bonfire Night, which is an unavoidable part of growing up in England, especially on the other less famous plotters.

Jonathan Keeble reads well, as ever, though he does have a tendency to say the word 'Protestantism' quite oddly ('Protest-ANT-ism'), which does grate a bit given the word's frequency.

All in all though, another good value listen from this series.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-04-2013
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited