The Life and Times of Queen Elizabeth I and Queen Elizabeth II

  • by Elizabeth Jenkins, Pearson Phillips
  • Narrated by Karen Archer, Nanette Newman
  • 6 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The two reigns - both unusually long - could scarcely have been more different. Queen Elizabeth I brought a much needed (and appreciated) stability to England at a key moment in the history of the nation. The steady hand of the Virgin Queen - supported by Lord Burleigh, her clear-sighted chancellor - ushered in a golden age after a time of considerable religious and political upheaval. Elizabeth Jenkins offers a personal portrait of a sovereign who was very much a woman, as well as a queen.Queen Elizabeth II has, by contrast, been the constitutional monarch par excellence - a figurehead guiding the concept of monarchy through difficult times, both national and personal. Her reign has seen major changes in the lifestyle and expectations of peoples and nations and she also proved to be a steady, clear personality on the throne. Pearson Phillips, in his sympathetic portrait, shows that even when her family has been rocked by scandals, Elizabeth II has maintained a quiet dignity.


Audible Editor Reviews

The Life and Times of Queen Elizabeth I and Queen Elizabeth II vibrantly follows the parallel lives of two exceptionally complex leaders, two of the few women to have ever been called Queen.
The reigns of Elizabeth I (1558 - 1603) and our modern Elizabeth II (1952) both span several decades and are 400-plus years removed, yet narrators Karen Archer and Nanette Newman, in clear tones and with regal authority, make the abundance of historical events described here come alive and flow in easily digestible form. A fascinating look at the interior lives of two remarkable Queens.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


highly recommend great read thiuraghably enjoyable book
my 13 year old daughter also thiuraghably enjoyed also

Read full review

- darren

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-08-2002
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks