The Mistresses of Cliveden

  • by Natalie Livingstone
  • Narrated by Carole Boyd
  • 15 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From its dawn in the 1660s to its twilight in the 1960s, Cliveden was an emblem of elite misbehaviour and intrigue. Conceived by the Duke of Buckingham as a retreat for his scandalous affair with Anna-Maria, Countess of Shrewsbury, the house later served as the backdrop for the Profumo affair.
In the 300 years between, the house was occupied by a dynasty of remarkable women each of whom left their mark on this great house.


What the Critics Say

"Narratively enthralling...chronicled with scholarship, readability, wit and a fine eye for telling detail." (Andrew Roberts, Evening Standard)
"Her scholarship is considerable and yet she wears it lightly, producing a book which is always lively, entertaining and immensely readable." (Daily Express)
"Wide-ranging and deliciously enjoyable...." (Juliet Nicholson, The Telegraph)
"Meticulously researched." (Mail on Sunday)
"A fascinating journey through English social history, with Cliveden at its heart." (Country Life)
"Fluently written, the book interweaves [these] personal stories with historical snippets illuminating each era and glimpses of life at the pinnacle of society.... The broad sweep through 300 years of social change is packed with plenty of colourful details that capture the heady essence of Cliveden and the bold, spirited women who shared its history." (History Today)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very slow and ponderous.

This is very boring. The narrator very irritating. I would like to return it,
Read full review


Very impressive!

Thoroughly entertaining and well researched narrative, which flows very smoothly, thanks to the melodious tones of the reader. I've read widely on the subject yet there was more to learn here. The book combines erudition and humour very cleverly and is clearly written from the heart.
Read full review

- Fiona

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-04-2016
  • Publisher: Oakhill Publishing