The Mob and the City

  • by C. Alexander Hortis
  • Narrated by LJ Ganser
  • 9 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Forget what you think you know about the Mafia. After listening to this book, even life-long mob aficionados will have a new perspective on organized crime.
Informative, authoritative, and eye-opening, this is the first full-length book devoted exclusively to uncovering the hidden history of how the Mafia came to dominate organized crime in New York City during the 1930s through 1950s. Based on exhaustive research of archives and secret files obtained through the Freedom of Information Act, author and attorney C. Alexander Hortis draws on the deepest collection of primary sources, many newly discovered, of any history of the modern mob.
Shattering myths, Hortis reveals how Cosa Nostra actually obtained power at the inception. The author goes beyond conventional who-shot-who mob stories, providing answers to fresh questions such as:

Why did the Sicilian gangs come out on top of the criminal underworld?
Can economics explain how the Mafia families operated?
What was the Mafia's real role in the drug trade?
Why was Cosa Nostra involved in gay bars in New York since the 1930s?
Drawing on an unprecedented array of primary sources, The Mob and the City is the most thorough and authentic history of the Mafia's rise to power in the early-to-mid 20th century.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A well narrated view on the American Mafia

I have read many books on this subject and although not too much new content I thought the book was both interesting and well narrated. If you are new to this subject I would recommend it and even if you have an insight please try it, you will not be disappointed.
Read full review

- Christopher

A fantastic

Very informative, listened all the way through. Great research. Voice is good and the story is good. I'm sad it finished! Wish there is a new book talking about the modern mafia!
Read full review

- Usman.N

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-01-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios