The Reformation : The Story of Civilization

  • by Will Durant
  • Narrated by Stefan Rudnicki
  • Series: The Story of Civilization
  • 50 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An engrossing volume on the European Reformation by Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Will Durant.
The sixth volume of Durant's acclaimed Story of Civilization, The Reformationchronicles the history of European civilization from 1300 to 1564. In this masterful work, listeners will encounter

the schism within the Roman Catholic Church and the formation of early Protestantism;
the theology of Martin Luther and his societal impact;
the rise of Humanism and the life of Desiderius Erasmus;
the royal monarchies of England, France, Spain, and Italy;
the imperial conquests of Christopher Columbus and the discovery of the Americas;
the Bohemian revolution of Eastern Europe, the unification of Russia, and the rise of the Ottoman Empire;
the teachings of John Calvin; and
the Counter-Reformation of the sixteenth century.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-10-2014
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.