The Second World War: Milestones to Disaster : Churchill's WWII

  • by Winston Churchill
  • Narrated by Christian Rodska
  • Series: Churchill's WWII
  • 10 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Churchill's history of the Second World War is, and will remain, the definitive work. Lucid, dramatic, remarkable for its breadth and sweep and for its sense of personal involvement, it is universally acknowledged as a magnificent reconstruction. Please note: This book was originally published in six volumes:
1.The Gathering Storm
2. Their Finest Hour
3. The Grand Alliance
4. The Hinge of Fate
5. Closing the Ring
6. Triumph and Tragedy
Churchill then condensed these into four volumes, which have since been released as one, rather hefty, publication. Audible has published the unabridged recordings of Churchill's condensed volume, divided into four parts, as follows:
1.Milestone to Disaster
3.The Grand Alliance
4.Triumph and Tragedy


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Extremely good listening

Excellent, just excellent, I listened to this as one might to a novel,it was so gripping. I have only downloaded this title a day or two and have finished it already. All through the reading I could hear the great man's voice. The reading was very good indeed
Read full review

- William

Riveting history by a master story-teller

I couldn't stop listening to this first of four parts of this monumental work covering the prelude and execution of the Second World War written by the man who saw Britain through its darkest hours. He writes wonderfully well in a fluent and captivating style that gives a tremendous sense of immediacy to this historical record. Being of the generation born just after the War much of the bones of the story are well-known but not the details of just how near to disaster our country came on several occasions. Churchill's fine writing and the precarious nature of the events described make for a wonderful listen greatly enhanced by Christian Rodska's masterly narration. I've immediately started listening to the next part of this quartet of books.
Read full review

- Kirstine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-10-2007
  • Publisher: Audible Studios