The War in the West - A New History : The War in the West

  • by James Holland
  • Narrated by Leighton Pugh
  • Series: The War in the West
  • 26 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Are you ready for the truth about World War Two?
In the first of an extraordinary three-volume account of the war on land, in the air and at sea, James Holland not only reveals the truth behind the familiar legends of the Second World War but he also unveils those lesser known events which were to have the greatest significance.
The first book to consider the economic, political and social as well as the military aspects of World War Two, this is a unique retelling of a monumental event in all its terrible and majestic glory.
Holland has spent over 12 years unearthing new research, visiting archives, battlefields and the very people who fought and lived through the conflict. He has, in his own accessible and inimitable style, written an account to redefine our understanding of the war. It is unlike anything else on the subject.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

WWll - Factual Account

This book will not be for everyone, it dissects the facts and data and presents it in a clear manner. No embellishment. The human interest appears in the excellent narration style (complete with accents, l particularly like the Italian). I enjoyed listening to this audible book and await the second part with interest and anticipation.
Read full review


Refreshingly new view of World War 2.

Enjoyed this review of World War 2 which cast a new light on what appeared as established truths. The lack of military awareness by the leaders of the Third Reich seems astonishingly naive and disastrous to the German people. Looking forward to the next installment.
Read full review

- Ian David Williamson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-09-2015
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks (UK)