This Sceptred Isle Volume 9

  • by Christopher Lee
  • Narrated by Anna Massey
  • 2 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The award-winning story of Britain, from the arrival of Julius Caesar in 55 BC to the death of Queen Victoria in 1901.Christopher Lee's history of Britain provides the definitive radio account of the events and personalities that have shaped our nation. From foreign invasions and war to economic crises and social revolution, this is a compelling journey through centuries of dramatic change.Volume 9, covering the years 1815 till 1837, describes a period of prosperity, wit, and elegance, as well as scandal, change, and social ferment. The Duke of Wellington became prime minister, Sir Robert Peel began the Metropolitan Police, and slavery was abolished in the British Empire.


What the Critics Say

"Wonderful....This Sceptred Isle has provided one of the greatest treats for listeners in recent years." (Sunday Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very good

I think that this bbc radio series is entertaining, informative and an excellent way to learn about the history of this country
Read full review

- Andyjn

Sceptered Isle: BBC series

Would you consider the audio edition of This Sceptred Isle Volume 9 to be better than the print version?

I have not read the book but I heard the original radio broadcast

What was one of the most memorable moments of This Sceptred Isle Volume 9?

The Reform Act of 1832

Have you listened to any of Anna Massey’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Her diction is the crispest and clearest you can get. She is brilliant as a narrator, you don't miss a word. Robert Powell is equally impressive as the second narrator.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It is history not fiction!

Any additional comments?

A useful introduction to this period which sent me off to find books on the period.

Read full review

- Old Timer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-10-2006
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited