• by Jan Morris
  • Narrated by Sebastian Comberti
  • 13 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Venice stands, as she loves to tell you, on the frontiers of the east and west, half-way between the setting and the rising sun. Goethe calls her "the market-place of the Morning and the Evening lands". Certainly no city on earth gives a more immediate impression of symmetry and unity, or seems more patently born to greatness.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well informed but badly organised.

I love Audible. I've listened to some great history texts and I've learned so much. However, I'm sorry to say that Jan Morrs' Venice for all of its length has taught me very little.

I bought this as a history text, but really this text is more like a modern guide book with a big portion of history mixed in. This sounds fine, but the problem is that while there is content, it is so higgledy piggledy in its distribution that the information just gets tangled, mixed up and confused.

Just as frustrating is the style of the writing. This book is overwritten and, frankly, rather self indulgent. Don't get me wrong. Morris can write lovely, florid sentences, but there are so many of them here that when the information finally arrives, it takes you by surprise and you miss it.

As I listened, in frustration, I found myself thinking that perhaps this book would be more enjoyable to someone who already knows the city well. For me, however, a Venice virgin so to speak (ahem), something more focussed on content, and organised chronologically would have been far more rewarding.
Read full review

- Once We Were Fiction

Brilliantly narratef

Venice is a rich book, full of wonderful language. This audio book does it full justice with a narration that brings out the best in the writing.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-11-2010
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks