We Die Alone

  • by David Howarth
  • Narrated by Stuart Langton
  • 6 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

One of the most enthralling true adventure stories ever written, We Die Alone, set in Nazi-occupied Norway in 1943, is an epic tale of survival against staggering odds. It begins with an ambushed commando raid that leaves all but one of the expatriate resistance fighters dead or captured. Though wounded, Jan Baalsrud, the sole survivor, takes off on a courageous, incredible trek into the wilds of the Lyngen Alps, while the Nazis pursue him relentlessly. He suffers frostbite, snowblindness, and a terrible fall in an avalanche. At last, delirious and near death, he chances on to a cabin, where the first in a series of remarkably brave and clever men and women come to his aid. These "ordinary heroes" will eventually get the crippled Baalsrud to safety and freedom, and the amazing story of how they do it will fill listeners with wonder at the capability of the human spirit.


What the Critics Say

"Awe-inspiring....Stuart Langton's narration is an apt fit. His delivery is as spare as the text and every bit as intriguing. His voice has a force of delivery that makes this exciting and unbelievable tale one that the listener will want to hear in one sitting." ( AudioFile)
"Almost unbelievable. We Die Alone is a spine chiller. It may well become a legend." ( Boston Post)
"One of the most remarkable survival stories ever written." ( Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


An excellent account of human survival and determination. An awe inspiring account of human endeavour prompted by circumstance. I was gripped from start to finish and feel driven to visit some of the locations myself to fully understand the immense physical and mental trial they went through.
Read full review

- Andy

an amazing story of human endurance

an amazing story of human endurance and sacrifice. never a dull moment. couldn't stop listening
Read full review

- darren

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-11-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.