Summary

Christopher would never hurt anyone. Not intentionally. Even after everything that’s happened, I still believe that....
Christopher Harris is a lonely boy. A boy who has never fit into his family. Who has always felt something was missing from his life. Until one day, when he discovers a suitcase in his family’s attic, and a secret about his mother that changes everything.... 
Mother will leave you reeling and hold you breathless until the very last minute. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister, and Apple Tree Yard.
"An intelligent psychological drama with a gasp-making twist." (Good Housekeeping)
"Up there with the big hitters. Move over Gone Girl you’ve got company on the top shelf." (Read & Rated Book Reviews)
"Breathlessly exciting." (Linda’s Book Bag)
"A sinister, deliciously wicked foray into the dark recesses of our personality. Lynes is a promising addition to the prolific list of stellar writers of psychological thrillers which includes Gillian Flynn, S J Watson, Louise Doughty, Elizabeth Haynes et al." (NB Magazine)
"Sent chills down my spine... completely enticing." (Damp Pebbles)
"Oozes with atmospheric tones, vivid descriptions and pure, haunting emotions." (Reviewed the Book)
"S.E. Lynes has raised the bar when it comes to phenomenal story telling." (Between Dreams I Read)
©2017 S.E. Lynes (P)2017 Bookouture
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £18.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Janet biglari on 17-01-18

Compelling and Gripping Story

I have never read anything by this author before so did not know what to expect. I found that I was totally gripped by this book. The subject is unusual and the narrative compelling. S.E.Lynes has a real talent for creating characters that are believable and well drawn. I loved the Seventies setting and references that really took me back to my teens. The references to the Yorkshire Ripper and his impact on the actions of the characters was a really interesting twist. I also loved the narration, Tamsin has a gift for creating characters without resorting to silly exaggerated voices. I would really recommend this book and was sad when I had finished it.

Read more Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Chrissie on 15-02-18

Interesting subject, but that is where it stops!

An interesting subject choice, exploring adoption and the search for identity and family, and sadistic murder, marred by a hackneyed writing style and monotonous narration.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Michelle T. Crippen on 05-12-17

Waiting for all the “exciting” twists

This book was okay but not as heart thumping and wildly exciting as so many people thought. Ben was brought Into the story abruptly and I quickly figured out why even though he does not mention again until later.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Ruby on 09-07-18

Stellar Narrating

Tamsin Kennard is an outstanding narrator. The story is slow until the last few chapters, where there is a twist I never saw coming. I'm very picky about the narrator's tone and I was not disappointed.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews