• A Macat Analysis of Antonio Gramsci's Prison Notebooks

  • By: Lorenzo Fusaro, Jason Xidias
  • Narrated by: Macat.com
  • Length: 1 hr and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 19-07-16
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Macat International Limited.
  • 3 out of 5 stars 3.0 (1 rating)


First published in 1948, Antonio Gramsci's Prison Notebooks is an important Marxist work that says we must understand societies both in terms of their economic relationships and their cultural beliefs.
Gramsci wanted to explore why Russia had undergone a socialist revolution in 1917 while other European countries had not. So he developed the concept of hegemony, which is the idea that those who hold power in a society can maintain and use that power because of their own grip on cultural values and economic relationships. Using a combination of force and manipulation, they are able to convince most people that the existing social arrangement is logical and in their best interests. Gramsci says that for a society to truly be transformed, workers need to rise up against two things - the unfair economic system and the ideas and political institutions that sustain it.
Gramsci's analysis of capitalism, economics, and culture has helped explain current historical developments, such as the recent financial crisis that started in 2007.
©2016 Macat Inc (P)2016 Macat Inc
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £6.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £6.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.
No Reviews are Available