All Fired Up

  • by Malcolm Castle
  • Narrated by Dean Williamson
  • 8 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Eighteen-year-old Malcolm Castle became a fireman so he could rush into burning buildings to save fair damsels in distress. He didn't realise he would also be jumping into slurry pits to rescue cows, horses and any number of other unfortunate animals. Nothing about the country fire service was quite what Malcolm expected when he joined the watch in Shrewsbury. Yes, he had to face the heart-stopping dramas and tragedies of farm and house fires. But as the newest member of the service he was also first in line when swans began to terrorise the high street, when a sheepdog got his head caught in a broken fence panel - and when a flock of owls got stuck on the roof of his local pub. His early days in the brigade in the late 1970's and early '80s was a time when crews tackled fires wearing plastic leggings, plastic gloves and cork hats covered in highly flammable gloss paint.
Funny, moving and gloriously nostalgic, All Fired Up paints a unique portrait of rural Britain - and shows just how surprising a fireman's life can be.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A really enjoyable read.

Really enjoyed this. Could relate to the young fireman in training and his passion to qualify. Portrays the importance of the role of firefighter and pride of being part of a disciplined team. The shared fun comes across making a pleasant read. Of the professional stories I have read, teachers, doctors, nurses this is the one I have enjoyed the most. The reader portrays the emotions well whilst the story tells the tale of the diverse calling of the fire brigade. Really enjoyed this book and if there is a sequel I will most definitely read it.
Read full review

- Lindy

Fantastic Fireman's Memoir

I loved Malcom Castle's memoir "All Fired Up". Laugh out loud funny, sad and realistically told. Beautifully written and masterfully narratef by Dean Williamson. I do hope that he's written more.
Read full review

- Janet Hughes

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-03-2012
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group