• by Richard Logan, Tere Dupperault Fassbender
  • Narrated by Johnny Heller, Jo Anna Perrin
  • 5 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A tanker steaming through the deep Northwest Providence Channel of the Bahamas comes across a shocking sight: a lone dinghy carrying Captain Julian Harvey and the body of a young girl. They are all that remain of the ketch Bluebelle, a handsome 60-foot sailing yacht chartered by the Duperrault family of Green Bay, Wisconsin. But their happy family vacation went terribly wrong when, according to Harvey, a violent and unexpected squall smashed the giant main mast, killed Harvey's wife and the others, and sank the boat. Harvey found the child floating dead and, as far as he knows, he is the only survivor. Or is he?
Four days later, just as Captain Harvey is testifying at a Coast Guard hearing about the tragic accident, amazing news of another survivor arrives. Eleven-year-old Terry Jo Duperrault has been found barely alive on a flimsy cork-and-canvas float with no food or water. Harvey takes the news calmly, finishes his testimony, and commit bloody suicide.
This is the chillingly detailed inside story of what really happened during that trip and the decades-long courage of the sole survivor of a murderous crime.


What the Critics Say

"A genuinely harrowing, wrenching and deeply memorable account of survival against all odds." (Ron Franscell, best-selling author of The Darkest Night)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This has to be the best book I have ever read. I was there every step of the way with Tete and her family and with Tete more so since the tragity on the sailing boat! Tete seems to be a lovely person and her children and grandchildren are very lucky to have such a loving mum and grandmother. Thank you Here you have given me a lot to take with me and I have told everyone "Alone is a must". Take care with yr family and enjoy the rest of your retirement without the "elephant"! Sharon McCafferty
Read full review

- Sharon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-06-2010
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio