Big History: The Big Bang, Life on Earth, and the Rise of Humanity : The Great Courses: Civilization & Culture

  • by The Great Courses
  • Narrated by Professor David Christian
  • Series: The Great Courses: Civilization & Culture
  • 24 hrs and 25 mins
  • Lecture

Publisher's Summary

How is it possible for the disciplines of cosmology, geology, anthropology, biology, and history to fit together? These 48 lectures answer that question by weaving a single story from accounts of the past developed by a variety of scholarly disciplines. The result is a story stretching from the origins of the universe to the present day and beyond, in which human history is seen as part of the history of our Earth and biosphere, and the Earth's history, in turn, is seen as part of the history of the universe.
Like traditional creation stories told by the world's great religions and mythologies, this lecture series provides a map of our place in space and time. But it does so using the insights and knowledge of modern science, as synthesized by a renowned historian. While you may have heard parts of this story before in courses on geology, history, anthropology, biology, cosmology, and other scholarly disciplines, Professor Christian provides more than just a recap of those disciplines. "Because of the scale on which we look at the past, you should not expect to find in it many of the familiar details, names, and personalities that you'll find in other types of historical teaching and writing," he explains. "For example, the French Revolution and the Renaissance will barely get a mention. They'll zoom past in a blur. You'll barely see them. Instead, what we're going to see are some less familiar aspects of the past. We'll be looking, above all, for the very large patterns, the shape of the past.
"Prepare yourself for a journey through time and across space, from the first moments of existence to the distant reaches of the far future.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Essential Reading for Humanity

What did you like most about Big History: The Big Bang, Life on Earth, and the Rise of Humanity?

It provides an overview of Humans and their place in history in the larger context of our existence within the universe in a wonderfully accessible way.


What did you like best about this story?

It was compelling and fluidly delivered


What about Professor David Christian’s performance did you like?

He is a outstanding lecturer delivering enormous information I a wonderful way


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes.


Read full review

- M. A. Atkin

The history of everything important

A wonderful series which launches a wealth of knowledge at the listener in a manner which allows it to be absorbed easily.

I thoroughly enjoyed this audio book and was absolutely hooked. The expansive task of describing the history of the universe, our planet and humankind is expertly handled by the lecturer who delivers in a very professional manner. It is very easy to keep up with the information, as there is very little jargon or complicated material.

You will learn a ton of stuff and be smart as hell if you listen to this.

Fans of History or Science will love it and even if you're not, probably.

Read full review

- Mr

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-07-2013
  • Publisher: The Great Courses