Bridge of Spies

  • by Giles Whittell
  • Narrated by Jonathan Keeble
  • 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Just who were the three men the Soviet and American superpowers exchanged on Berlin's Glienicke Bridge on February 10, 1962? Bridge of Spies is the true story of those men - Rudolf Abel, a Soviet Spy who was a master of disguise; Gary Powers, an American who was captured when his spy plane was shot down; and Frederic Pryor, a young American doctor mistakenly identified as a spy.
The men in this three-way political swap had been drawn into the nadir of the Cold War by duty and curiosity, and the same tragicomedy of errors that induced Khrushchev to send missiles to Castro. They were rescued against daunting odds by fate and by their families, and then all but forgotten.
This is their story.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Didn’t excite me

It started ok. But got boring really quickly and kept jumping from different years to people for no reason.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Interesting, very good narrator. Good read

Well narrated. Interesting subject. In depth without being boring good read for any cold war fans
Read full review

- Jake

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-04-2012
  • Publisher: Soundings