• by Carl Sagan
  • Narrated by LeVar Burton, Seth MacFarlane, Neil deGrasse Tyson, Ann Druyan
  • 14 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Cosmos is one of the bestselling science books of all time. In clear-eyed prose, Sagan reveals a jewel-like blue world inhabited by a life form that is just beginning to discover its own identity and to venture into the vast ocean of space. Featuring a new Introduction by Sagan's collaborator, Ann Druyan, and a new Foreword by astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, Cosmos retraces the fourteen billion years of cosmic evolution that have transformed matter into consciousness, exploring such topics as the origin of life, the human brain, Egyptian hieroglyphics, spacecraft missions, the death of the Sun, the evolution of galaxies, and the forces and individuals who helped to shape modern science.
Includes introductory music: Heaven and Hell by Vangelis from Cosmos: A Personal Voyage used with permission from Druyan-Sagan Associates, Inc. All rights reserved.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A masterpiece

This is always going to be a classic, and even now it has lost little of what made it great when it originally came out. LeVar Burton does a great job reading it.
Read full review

- Mr

Why did I wait so long to get this!?

A great listen/read. I was half expecting that 'I knew it already', after studying this kind of stuff at university, but it is more than just a popular science book. The way the story of the cosmos is blended with human nature, evolution and the history of civilisation was brilliant. The narration by LeVar Burton is possibly the second best I've heard in an audiobook so far (just behind Peter Kenny) and the final two chapters are very thought provoking and really make me reconsider a lot of what I thought it was to be a member of this planet.

Thoroughly recommended to anyone, not just those with an interest in science.
Read full review

- Colin Forster

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-05-2017
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio