Human Rights: A Very Short Introduction

  • by Andrew Clapham
  • Narrated by Jonathan Yen
  • 6 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the controversial incarceration of prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, to the brutal ethnic cleansing being practiced in Darfur, to the widespread denial of equal rights to women in many areas of the world, human rights violations are a constant presence in the news and in our lives.
Taking an international perspective, and focusing on highly topical issues such as torture, arbitrary detention, privacy, health, and discrimination, this Very Short Introduction will help readers to understand for themselves, the controversies and complexities behind this vitally relevant issue. Looking at the philosophical justification for rights, the historical origins of human rights and how they are formed in law, Andrew Clapham explains what our human rights actually are, what they might be, and where the human rights movement is heading.


Audible Editor Reviews

This useful overview includes a history of the development of international human rights, a look at the role of the United Nations, and considerations of torture, privacy, and the death penalty, among other subjects. Author Andrew Clapham also considers whether to extend the concept of human rights to necessities such as food and shelter, concluding that such fundamentals do fall under the human rights umbrella. Hot-button issues such as the Guantanamo Bay detention center are also considered, and the book takes an account of where the human rights movement is heading as a whole. Performer Jonathan Yen's voice is smooth and clear. A valuable backgrounder for students of the subject, or those who just want to brush up on the current controversies.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great introduction to Human Rights.

This is a great introduction to the topic of human rights. It is easy to listen to, well structured and informative.
Read full review

- Kate Fahey

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-11-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios