• In Pursuit of Silence

  • Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise
  • By: George Prochnik
  • Narrated by: Don Hagen
  • Length: 9 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 07-05-10
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Gildan Media, LLC
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.3 (10 ratings)

Summary

More than money, power, and even happiness, silence has become the most precious and dwindling commodity of our modern world.
Between iPods, music-blasting restaurants, earsplitting sports stadiums, and endless air and road traffic, the place for quiet in our lives grows smaller by the day. In Pursuit of Silence gives context to our increasingly desperate sense that noise pollution is, in a very real way, an environmental catastrophe.
Listening to doctors, neuroscientists, acoustical engineers, monks, activists, educators, marketers, and aggrieved citizens, George Prochnikexamines why we began to be so loud as a society, and what it is that gets lost when we can no longer find quiet. He shows us the benefits of decluttering our sonic world.
As Prochnik travels across the United States and overseas, we meet a rich cast of characters: an idealistic architect who is pioneering a new kind of silent architecture in collaboration with the Deaf community at Gallaudet University; a special operations soldier in Afghanistan (and former guitarist with Nirvana) who places silence at the heart of survival in war; a sound designer for shopping malls who ensures that the stores we visit never stop their auditory seductions; and a group of commuters who successfully revolted against piped-in music in Grand Central Station.
A brilliant, far-reaching exploration of the frontiers of noise and silence, and the growing war between them, In Pursuit of Silence is an important book that will appeal to fans of Michael Pollan and Daniel Gilbert.
©2010 George Prochnik (P)2010 Gildan
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £31.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £31.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Dr. on 07-04-13

Good but not great

I was really looking forward to reading this book, having read some great reviews. However, although overall it was a good listen, I was left feeling a bit cheated.

The book could have been titled "An exploration of noise" and it would still have worked! I felt that a balanced approach was missing. The author went into great detail about noise, its types, origin and history whereas I was hoping for more of an insight into quiet and silence and there physiological and psychological effects.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By michaeldayreads on 20-10-12

An important subject and a well intentioned work.

Worth reading and very enjoyable in places, simply longer and more verbose than necessary. The author needs an editor that encourages him to be less flowery with his words. That a book on silence has a high noise to signal ratio is ironic.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Neryl on 04-07-11

Bring it on! A quieter world

Interesting book.
Why does a search for silence so often mean an investigation of noise?
Touched on topics I had never heard of before.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews