• by Bettany Hughes
  • Narrated by Bettany Hughes
  • 24 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.
Istanbul has always been a place where stories and histories collide and crackle, where the idea is as potent as the historical fact. From the Qu'ran to Shakespeare, this city with three names - Byzantium, Constantinople, Istanbul - resonates as an idea and a place and overspills its boundaries - real and imagined. Standing as the gateway between the East and West, it has served as the capital of the Roman, Byzantine, Latin and Ottoman Empires. For much of its history, it was known simply as The City, but, as Bettany Hughes reveals, Istanbul is not just a city but a story.
In this epic new biography, Hughes takes us on a dazzling historical journey through the many incarnations of one of the world's greatest cities. As the longest-lived political entity in Europe, over the last 6,000 years Istanbul has absorbed a mosaic of microcities and cultures all gathering around the core. At the latest count, archaeologists have measured 42 human habitation layers. Phoenicians, Genoese, Venetians, Jews, Vikings and Azeris all called a patch of this earth their home. Based on meticulous research and new archaeological evidence, this captivating portrait of the momentous life of Istanbul is visceral, immediate and scholarly narrative history at its finest.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Captivating and comprehensive

Hughes covers a vast amount of information with deft skill and with a delivery that is both scholarly and captivating. The way she weaves the snapshots of modern Istanbul Into her narrative is also a nice touch. Thoroughly recommended.
Read full review

- Mark Patrick

Beautiful story

Brilliantly read, comprehensive research and a very engaging story. Loved it! An absolute audio book.
Read full review

- leonard iancu

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-02-2017
  • Publisher: Orion