Powering the Future

  • by Robert B. Laughlin
  • Narrated by Traber Burns
  • 5 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In Powering the Future, Nobel laureate Robert B. Laughlin transports us two centuries into the future, when we’ve ceased to use carbon from the ground. Boldly, Laughlin predicts no earth-shattering transformations will have taken place. Six generations from now, there will still be soccer moms, shopping malls, and business trips. Firesides will still be snug and warm.
How will we do it? Not by discovering a magic bullet to slay our energy problems but through a slew of fascinating technologies, drawing on wind, water, and fire. Powering the Future is an objective yet optimistic tour through alternative fuel sources, set in a world where we’ve burned every last drop of petroleum and every last shovelful of coal.


What the Critics Say

“The value of the book rests in the author’s thought-provoking assessment and his relentless faith in the earth…A work of intricate research free of hype, offering serious pros and cons with a sometimes whimsical flourish.” ( Kirkus Reviews)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fascinating, informed, objective

Mr Laughlin's book distills a lifetime's work into a summary of the fundamentals of fuel science, the economics of the business, the human behaviours that have driven the development of the energy business to date, the landscape of available alternatives to oil and the likely development of the energy market if democratic systems and their associated market dynamics continue to operate as they have to date. You may not like the future he anticipates; he may not be too keen on it either, but this book is enormously valuable in both entertaining and informing the listener. It is also exceptionally well narrated.
Read full review

- Jim


Very good, in depth and at the same time approachable review of potential future and current energy sources. Great energy myths buster at the same time.
Read full review

- Piotr

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-09-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.