Raptor: A Journey Through Birds

  • by James Macdonald Lockhart
  • Narrated by Dugald-Bruce Lockhart
  • 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011.
A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald.
Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all 15 breeding birds of prey on these shores - from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fascinating

I meant to dip into this before sharing it with the family on our long car journey to the Hebrides but could not stop listening to the end. I have learned so much. Perfect for someone interested in birds, wild places and learning about a man called Mcgilervray.
Read full review

- Tim Perkins

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-02-2016
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited