Summary

Winner of the Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011.
A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald.
Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all 15 breeding birds of prey on these shores - from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies.
©2016 James Macdonald Lockhart (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £11.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Tim Perkins on 17-08-17

Fascinating

I meant to dip into this before sharing it with the family on our long car journey to the Hebrides but could not stop listening to the end. I have learned so much. Perfect for someone interested in birds, wild places and learning about a man called Mcgilervray.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews