Reacher Said Nothing: Lee Child and the Making of Make Me

  • by Andy Martin
  • Narrated by Steven Pacey
  • 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On September 1, 1994, Lee Child went out to buy the paper to start writing his first novel - in pencil. The result was Killing Floor, which introduced his hero Jack Reacher. Twenty years later, on September 1, 2014, he began writing Make Me, the 20th novel in his number-one best-selling Reacher series. Same day, same writer, same hero.
The difference, this time, was that he had someone looking over his shoulder. Andy Martin, uber Reacher fan, Cambridge academic, expert on existentialism and dedicated surfer, sat behind Lee Child in his office and watched him as he wrote. While Lee was writing his Reacher book, Andy was writing about the making of Make Me.
Reacher Said Nothing is a book about a guy writing a book. An instant metabook. It crosses genres by bringing a high-level critical approach to a popular text and gives a fascinating insight into the art of writing a thriller, showing the process in real time. It may well be the first of its kind.
[Spoiler alert: if you haven't read Make Me yet, this book contains spoilers.]


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

What a ride!

I read a review in a newspaper and thought - yawn. Then listened on Audio

Just loved it - it helps to know the Reacher books which I do - as do many others given Lee's sales figures.
Its literary and literal, the game playing with words for the book in progress was fantastic. I know who Lee Child is - who is Andy Martin - he made the book really...or was it the dynamic(s) between Martin and Child.... plenty of other characters as well.

Great to hear and feel how a book gets written.

Narration made me think three people were talking Child, Martin and the narrator.

I'l have to listen to it again it was that good, hang on another Reacher book just released....
Read full review

- Vince Kempson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-11-2015
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks