The Beak of the Finch

  • by Jonathan Weiner
  • Narrated by Victor Bevine
  • 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Pulitzer Prize, General Nonfiction, 1995
Rosemary and Peter Grant and those assisting them have spent 20 years on Daphne Major, an island in the Galapagos, studying natural selection. They recognize each individual bird on the island, when there are 400 at the time of the author's visit or when there are over a thousand. They have observed about 20 generations of finches - continuously. Jonathan Weiner follows these scientists as they watch Darwin's finches and come up with a new understanding of life itself.


What the Critics Say

Pulitzer Prize, General Non-Fiction, 1995
AudioFile Earphones Award, 2010

"There are lots of memorable lines, and telling, even funny anecdotes (don't miss the one about the barnacle that bit) that make this Weiner a winner." (Kirkus Reviews)
"Evocative writing, exhaustive research, and Weiner's memorable portrait of the engaging Grants assure The Beak of the Finch membership in the select pantheon of science books that spark not just the intellect, but the imagination." (Washington Post Book World)
"Narrator Victor Bevine’s English accents include Australian, American, and British, with seamless switches to Ecuadorian Spanish. He senses just the right pace for his well-pronounced deluge of scientific words and arguments. His enthusiasm for what the finch studies demonstrated heralds the Grants’ momentous contribution to our knowledge of biology today." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The "brief history of time" for evolution

Spoiler alert: when times are tough evolution diversifies and during times are abundance evolution unifies and uses that luxury to create intelligence. Either way, the stories of proof of evolution from Darwin to modern day expierimentalists and tireless observers is enchantingly shared with us in a clear and poetic way. Worth the journey!
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 27-07-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios