The Gospel of Mary Magdalene

  • by Jean-Yves Leloup
  • Narrated by Jacob Needleman, Gabrielle de Cuir, Stephen Hoye, Stefan Rudnicki
  • 6 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Perhaps no figure in biblical scholarship has been the subject of more controversy and debate than Mary Magdalene. Although she is discussed in the gospels of Philip, Thomas, Peter, and Bartholomew in the collection of writings known as the Gnostic gospels that were rejected by the early Christian church, there is no better insight into this mysterious and influential woman than Mary's own gospel.
The gospel text and the spiritual interpretation of Leloup together reveal unique teachings that emphasize the eminence of the divine feminine and an abiding love of nature over the dualistic and ascetic interpretations of Christianity presented elsewhere. What emerges from this important source text and commentary is a renewal of the sacred feminine in the Western spiritual tradition and a new vision for Christian thought and faith throughout the world.


What the Critics Say

"Less dualistic and more woman-affirming than the canonical quartet, the Magdalene's gospel might be embraced by contemporary seekers, both Christian and non-Christian." ( Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Very academic, but much more easy to digest as a audible book. A much needed addition to our understanding of Christ in a multi cultural society - it gives a 'godly' way through respecting our brothers and sisters of other faith groups. It challenges what is the treasure between the spirit and the soul. It throws wide our western attraction to only science.
I have only given it 3 stars more because of my comprehension -probably it deserves more if I understood more! I shall listen again d absorb a little more wisdom I hope
Read full review

- Sue

Pages missing

Lots of pages missing so you are left with a fragmented story . Not the best .
Read full review

- ADele Joanne Sliwinski

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-04-2010
  • Publisher: Phoenix Books