The Meaning of Things

  • by A.C. Grayling
  • Narrated by A.C. Grayling
  • 3 hrs and 40 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"The unconsidered life is not worth living." - Socrates. Thinking about life, what it means and what it holds in store does not have to be a despondent experience, but rather can be enlightening and uplifting. A life truly worth living is one that is informed and considered so a degree of philosophical insight into the inevitabilities of the human condition is inherently important and such an approach will help us to deal with real personal dilemmas.
This book is an accessible, lively, and thought-provoking series of linked commentaries, based on A.C. Grayling's "The Last Word" column in the Guardian. Its aim is not to persuade readers to accept one particular philosophical point of view or theory, but to help us consider the wonderful range of insights which can be drawn from an immeasurably rich history of philosophical thought. Concepts covered include courage, love, betrayal, ambition, cruelty, wisdom, passion, beauty, and death. This will be a wonderfully stimulating listen and act as an invaluable guide as to what is truly important in living life, whether facing success, failure, justice, wrong, love, loss or any of the other profound experience life throws out.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Exactly what it claims to be

I wanted to give this audiobook this 4 stars, but that would be unfair since it is exactly what it claims to be and no less. Some parts were interesting, some a little boring, though that is only due to whether I was personally interested in the topic. Basically it's an overview of philosophical ideas about modern-day concerns. I was hoping for more depth: more puzzling philosophical, metaphysical or moral questions. This book only attempts to answer (or give an opinion on) "normal" questions, but it did never claim to do otherwise and so I can't mark it down for that.
Read full review

- Alasdair

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-08-2006
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited