• The Secret Life of the Mind

  • How Our Brain Thinks, Feels and Decides
  • By: Mariano Sigman
  • Narrated by: Peter Noble
  • Length: 9 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 01-06-17
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.4 (26 ratings)

Summary

A vast yet compact view of cognitive neuroscience, a groundbreaking, personal and comprehensive guide into understanding our thoughts.
In the last 20 years, Mariano Sigman has journeyed to the core of the brain, an organ formed by nearly an infinity of neurons that manufacture how we perceive, reason, feel, dream and communicate.
After more than two decades of research, he has zoomed out from a thorough excursion to the neurons to seeing the brain from afar, where thoughts begin to take shape. And at this point, where psychology meets neuroscience, The Secret Life of the Mind combines the astonishing work of biologists, physicists, mathematicians, psychologists, anthropologists, linguists, engineers, philosophers and medical doctors - not to forget cooks, magicians, musicians, chess players, writers and artists. It is an astonishing synthesis of a life's expertise on the edge of science, for fans of Thinking, Fast and Slow.
Looking into how we forge ideas in our first days of life, how we shape the decisions that define us, why we dream and how years and years of formal and informal education change our brains, this book explores how we begin to understand even the smallest things that make up who and what we are.
©2015 Mariano Sigman (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Mariano Sigman writes and thinks in a uniquely provocative way. He is a gifted cognitive neuroscientist, and we are lucky to have him excavating the secret life of the mind. He makes learning about the mind and brain easy and almost automatic. He is the Richard Feynman of the brain." (Andrew Meltzoff, professor of psychology, the University of Washington; coauthor of The Scientist in the Crib)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £11.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Andrei on 08-11-17

Brilliant

Brilliantly written and since I got the audio book beautifully narrated!
I strongly recommend this book

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Emils Petracenoks on 01-02-18

The best intro book into cognitive, neuro sciences

This book gives the best popular introdutcion into cognitive science, neuro science and behaviour theory.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews