Summary

A short story for fans of Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve. Step into the fragile domestic world of Roar and discover the unforgettable voice of Nicole Trope, best-selling author of The Secrets in Silence, Three Hours Late and The Boy Under the Table.
The baby sleeps peacefully, filled with milk and contentment. The man on the bed breathes his way into the darkness, filled with rage. Was there ever really a choice?
From the queen of searing family drama and suspense comes a short story about the fierce bonds between mother and child, the things we sacrifice to protect the ones we love and the desperate choices we make when there's nowhere left to run.
©2014 Nicole Trope (P)2016 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £4.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £4.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Emily on 14-06-18

Interesting

This was a really interesting short story concerning domestic abuse and breaking points. There’s not much I can say without spoilering it, but it was incredible.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By happyjo on 10-07-18

Roar

This book is unique. A very short story with an abrupt ending which left my feelings up in the air. I am not sure if I liked this story.

Read more Hide me
2 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 21-02-18

Annoying Ending

This book does not deliver on the suspense it builds up. The narrator’s “roar” at the end was very annoying. Not satisfied with the ending; there could have been more to this short story.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews