A Crown of Swords : Wheel of Time

  • by Robert Jordan
  • Narrated by Kate Reading, Michael Kramer
  • Series: Wheel of Time
  • 30 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this volume, Elayne, Aviendha, and Mat come ever closer to the bowl ter'angreal that may reverse the world's endless heat wave and restore natural weather. Egwene begins to gather all manner of women who can channel: Sea Folk, Windfinders, Wise Ones, and some surprising others. And above all, Rand faces the dread Forsaken Sammael, in the shadows of Shadar Logoth, where the blood-hungry mist, Mashadar, waits for prey.


What the Critics Say

"Amid all the Sturm und Drang...is a finely tuned comic strain that both leavens the story and adds to its development. This latest installment of a major fantasy epic definitely will not disappoint its fans." ( Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ebou Dar

Although many new and exciting developments happen in this book, the key progression of the story takes place in Ebou Dar as Nynaeve al'Meara and Elaine Trakand search for the bowl of the winds, a new Ter'angreal that should help change weather (see book 8 to find out if it succeeds!).
The introduction of Cadsuane also adds to Rand's disgruntlement, and gives much stock into the history of Aes-Sedai, though the discovery of women who can channel in Ebou Dar also lends weight to Aes-Sedai history.
This book is full of excitement, like the others, but in many ways it is expositional, setting up things for the final swing through the remaining books to Tarmon Gai'Don. A fine step through the world of The Wheel of Time, and thoroughly gripping as with the others.
Lastly, Matt Cauthon again gets some great scenes, and really fleshes out as a character in this book, setting him and Perrin up for the rest of the books where they both become Rand's right and left hands.
From this book on, it gets even more exciting! But from book 11, Robert Jordan's final completed and published volume in the series, the Jordan-Sanderson team do a fine job tying it all together. Bring on Volume 12, Tor and Harriett! ;)
Read full review

- William Clements

Great book

Really good book but not a fan of the narrators voices. fans of the series get it
Read full review

- Joseph Watkins

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-10-2006
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio