A Second Chance at Eden

  • by Peter F. Hamilton
  • Narrated by Steven Crossley
  • 14 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A Second Chance at Eden, by Peter F. Hamilton, the best-selling master of space opera, is a collection containing a novella and six short stories set in the Confederation Universe of the Night's Dawn trilogy.
'Sonnie's Edge': The popular sport of beastie-baiting involves contests to the death between artificial monsters controlled via human affinity bonds. Sonnie's team is particularly successful...but then her monster, Khanivore, has one special advantage.
'A Second Chance at Eden': A bitek habitat which orbits Jupiter, mining the fusion fuel on which earth is dependent, Eden is a mini nation of radical politics - and even more radical technology. Then its creator is murdered in full view of the whole population, but nobody can identify the perpetrator - or the motive.
'New Days Old Times': Settlers came to the planet Nyvan hoping for a lifestyle free of earthbound hatreds. Alas, though environments may change, human nature does not.
'Candy Buds': The crime lord Laurus rules Kariwak with an iron fist, jealously guarding control of the bitek trade. But when an astonishing new substance appears on the streets, virtual reality takes on an entirely new dimension.
'Deathday': On a desolate planet, a man wages an obsessive campaign of retribution against the last survivor of an alien race. But vengeance can cut both ways.
'The Lives and Loves of Tiarella Rosa': A passion that spans two generations of women...and endures beyond.
'Escape Route': The starship Lady Macbeth encounters a long-abandoned alien spacecraft, with its escape route still intact - but leading where? And is the craft as empty as it seems?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Very well read. Stories are of various (good) quality. Worth a listen if you enjoyed the Nights Dawn trilogy.
Read full review

- Samantha Ewence

Story is great terrible reader

Reader continuously used whiney and "outraged" tone of voice throughout the entire volume. Became quite hard to listen too. Spoiled the stories.
Read full review

- Oliver W.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-09-2016
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.