This publisher's pack contains Sanctuary (book 5) and Rebellion (book 6) of the After It Happened series.
Set in the UK in the immediate aftermath of a mysterious illness that swept the country and left millions dead, the series follows the trials facing a reluctant hero, Dan, and the group he forms around him. They must battle the elements, find sufficient supplies and equipment to survive, and protect themselves against the most destructive force on the planet: other people.
Sanctuary, book 5: Scattered, the group must come to terms with their new reality. They face more danger than they can deal with. They have no idea if they can win the race against time before one of them becomes critical. Meanwhile, back at home, a plan is hatched to overthrow a tyrannical rule.
Rebellion, book 6: Steve, now recovered from his horrific injuries, forms a plan to restore the balance of power in their camp, but his opposition is also playing a dangerous game. Meanwhile, Sanctuary reveals its secrets to Dan and the others, and they find safety and comfort behind the high walls. But safety is an illusion, and there are forces converging on them with a malevolence that they have not battled before.
©2017 Devon C. Ford (P)2018 Podium Publishing
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £28.19

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £28.19

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 20-02-18

A Real Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

The first couple of books in this series were remarkably calm affairs for post-apocalyptic fiction. A logical and steady building of a new small society interspersed here and there with examples of the threat such a world might deliver. Things cut up rougher in books 3 and 4 and it was obvious this was going to be no easy ride for the group.

These last two books though have real bite. Book 5, Sanctuary, is almost reminiscent of series like Arisen with almost non-stop jeopardy and action. The final book has a little more down time in patches but it ends with fantastic action and combat scenes. That ending is hugely satisfying.

As for the narration, with the first two books I did suggest for the first time ever that as good as he was maybe another narrator would have been better than RC Bray to give the book a better feeling of local character. Heresy obviously and here with the higher pace the natural sense of urgency that he brings to any story pays handsome dividends.

So, a quality series offering a real progression in terms of its story and character development from the soft, relatively comfortable grazing of the first two books to the snarling wolves that end it. And once again an additional bravo to the author and Podium Publishing for taking the step of putting the books into higher value publisher's packs!

Read more Hide me

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By duncan miller on 23-02-18

post apocalypse with a stiff upper lip

Where does After It Happened rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

If you enjoyed the Mountain Man or Arisen books you'll enjoy this. I particularly enjoyed the unique British humour and sensibilities that Devon Ford captured. These books are not meant as world class literature but they are great entertainment and well worth a read / listen

What does R. C. Bray bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

R.C Bray is probably the best (or at least top 3) performers working in audiobooks, how he manages to portray the gruffest of British soldiers in one sentence and switch to a teenage girl in the next to a psychopathic foreign soldier the breath after is beyond me, his ability to bring every character to life in such a way you can almost picture them just from his performance makes me search out every book he's performed

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The epilogue of the final instalment really brought a lump to my throat, the books aren't perfect but the emotions the epilogue brought forth made me realise how much I'd enjoyed them and how much the central characters had touched me

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jordan on 31-01-18

Great end

I loved this series, I laughed and cried. This book made me want to be like Dan.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 19-03-18

great boo

loved it! best story ever so real. love all the charachters and was nearly bawling when it ended!

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews