Baldur's Gate : Baldur's Gate

  • by Philip Athans
  • Narrated by Fleet Cooper
  • Series: Baldur's Gate
  • 9 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bhaal must be stopped! Someone is sabotaging the iron mines of the Sword Coast, pushing powerful realms toward a bloody war, and a young mercenary toward an unimaginable secret. Evil gods, giant spiders, murderous doppelgangers, flesh-eating ghouls, and wicked Zhentarim come to life in the action-packed novelization of the Baldur's Gate computer game form BioWare and Interplay.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

It was ok

Apparently Phillip Athans had a deadline of two months to write this book. If this is true then it might explain the poor writing, however he was replaced for the third book so this suggests TSR/WoTC had ran out of patience after his second attempt.

I am currently running Murder in Baldurs Gate, a 5e D&D adventure that has Abdel and the Bhaalspawn as its main plot, I wanted to read this solely for background having not played the Baldurs Gate computer games for which the book is based on.

For those who don't know the Computer game is set in the D&D campaign world created by Ed Greenwood.

Now onto the performance of the Narrator.

His voice acting is great, he has a wide vocabulary of accents he can dip in and out of, and believe me this is a skill, as a Dungeon Master this has always been something I have struggled with, there are those that can do accents and those that can't this guy can. This is the only reason he gets 3 stars.

However he is just a poor reader.

Simple sentences have incorrect intonation, he emphasises words in sentences that don't need emphasising, it's a real shame, I hope he listened back to his performance and realises for the second book because I'm not looking forward to it.

If you are a fan of D&D then it might be worth reading/listening, if you have no clue what I have babbled on about then don't bother, trust me, it's awful.
Read full review

- P. Teece

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-01-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios