Battlemage : Age of Darkness

  • by Stephen Aryan
  • Narrated by Matt Addis
  • Series: Age of Darkness
  • 15 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"I can command storms, summon fire and unmake stone. Animals have nothing interesting to say, and no one can see the future because it has not been written," growled Balfruss. "It's dangerous to meddle with things you don't understand. When you fight magic with magic, nothing is certain."
Balfruss is a battlemage, one of a vanishing breed, sworn to fight and die for a country that fears and despises him.
Vargus is a soldier, and while mages shoot lightning from the walls of his city, he's down in the frontlines getting blood on his blade.
Talandra is a princess and her father's spymaster, but the war may force her to take up a greater responsibility and make the greatest sacrifice of all.
Known for their unpredictable, dangerous power, society has left battlemages untrained and shunned. But when a force unlike anything ever imagined attacks their home, the few remaining magic users must go to war - to save those who fear them most and herald in a new age of peace built upon the corpses of their enemies.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very gritty magic

Good book, amazing voice actor. Maybe a bit of gore glorification, but I get why. Imparts the brutality of war and magic well.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Had its moments, but a little bland.

Firstly the narration was quite good, a little monotone at times, but didn't detract from the story.

Story was ok, but there was really only a few moments when something actually happened. Instead I had to listen to what I assume is setup for the next book. The problem with this is that only a couple of characters are interesting because they are the only ones really involved in any action.

I just felt like the author had an idea for a good ending and the whole book was just about getting there, with very little happening in between.
Read full review

- Aaron

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-09-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK