Beacon 23: The Complete Novel

  • by Hugh Howey
  • Narrated by Ryan McCarthy
  • 6 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This work contains the five Beacon 23 stories, originally released in serialized form.
For centuries, men and women have manned lighthouses to ensure the safe passage of ships. It's a lonely job, and a thankless one for the most part - until something goes wrong, until a ship is in distress.
In the 23rd century, this job has moved into outer space. A network of beacons allows ships to travel across the Milky Way at many times the speed of light. These beacons are built to be robust. They never break down. They never fail.
At least, they aren't supposed to.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant again...and again.

Listening to this again for the umpteenth time. Never grow tired of the story, the characters, the humour as well as the pathos or the message. Whenever I can't decide on my next book, I return to Beacon 23 and relax back into the familiarity and the contentment of reading this unbeatable novel. Never known a book have such an effect on me. Would definitely be my Desert Island book choice
Read full review

- cheryl

So so gloomy.

Depressing, melancholy, dull. Things don't even pick up at the end. My least favourite purchase.
Read full review

- Jeremy Brown

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-10-2015
  • Publisher: Broad Reach Publishing