Betrayer of Worlds : Known Space

  • by Larry Niven, Edward M. Lerner
  • Narrated by Tom Weiner
  • Series: Known Space
  • 9 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Since fleeing the supernova chain reaction at the galactic core, the cowardly Puppeteers of the Fleet of Worlds have - just barely - survived one crisis after another: the rebellion of their human slaves, the relentless questing of the species of Known Space, the spectacular rise of the starfishlike Gw'oth, the onslaught of the genocidal Pak.
Now fresh disaster looms, as though past crises have returned and converged. Who can possibly save the Fleet this time?
Larry Niven is the multiple Hugo and Nebula award–winning author of the Ringworld series, along with many other science fiction masterpieces. Edward M. Lerner has degrees in physics and computer science, a background that kept him mostly out of trouble until he began writing science fiction full-time.


What the Critics Say

“Exceptional freshness and suspense…full of startling revelations about human and puppeteer politics.” ( Booklist)
“Niven and Lerner have produced a novel that can stand on its own as well as part of the Known Space franchise.” ( Locus)
“A far-future SF mystery/adventure set two centuries before the discovery of the Ringworld by humans…Intriguing human and alien characters and lucid scientific detail.” ( Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Sorry, so very sorry

I loved the Earlier Mote books but this one just bored me to tears,so very very sorry but was just boring and in the end I gave up on it.
Read full review

- Nick Evans

Wait for it...

Niven has created such a rich universe with Known Space that initially spending the first third of the book in one confined space seems a waste. However Niven WITH Weiner can produce excellent Character focused stories and that's what this book is.
It builds on the past 40 years of existing Known Space fiction while not overtly relying on it and the ending is genius, using the perfectly paced build up till we get to the "Oh Really!" moment.
Read full review

- Ian Warrender

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-10-2010
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.