Blackwater: The Complete Saga

  • by Michael McDowell
  • Narrated by Matt Godfrey
  • 30 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Blackwater is the saga of a small town, Perdido, Alabama, and Elinor Dammert, the stranger who arrives there under mysterious circumstances on Easter Sunday, 1919. On the surface, Elinor is gracious, charming, anxious to belong in Perdido, and eager to marry Oscar Caskey, the eldest son of Perdido's first family. But her beautiful exterior hides a shocking secret. Beneath the waters of the Perdido River, she turns into something terrifying, a creature whispered about in stories that have chilled the residents of Perdido for generations. Some of those who observe her rituals in the river will never be seen again....
Originally published as a series of six volumes in 1983, Blackwater is the crowning achievement of Michael McDowell, author of the Southern Gothic classics Cold Moon Over Babylon and The Elementals and screenwriter of Beetlejuice and The Nightmare Before Christmas. This first-ever one-volume edition will allow a new generation of listeners to discover this modern horror classic.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

outstanding a true classic in the making

absolutely amazing one of those rare books that has you feeling gutted when it finishes considering it was wrote in 1984 can't understand why it's never been made into a movie
Read full review

- David brine


had never heard of this book before, but decided to give it a go...was mesmerized from start to finish, and quite amused in parts!! fantastic story and superb narration... highly recommended.
Read full review

- Paul McLernon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-10-2017
  • Publisher: Valancourt Books