Carve the Mark

  • by Veronica Roth
  • Narrated by Austin Butler, Emily Rankin
  • 14 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally best-selling author Veronica Roth's stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.
On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favoured by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not - their gifts make them vulnerable to others' control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates and their lives and reset the balance of power in this world?
Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra's currentgift gives her pain and power - something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother's hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet and smarter than he knows.
Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive - no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra's world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive - or to destroy one another.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant

Had me totally hooked. Both he narrators did an amazing job I'm actually sad it ended :( but hope if there is another they choose the same cast.
Read full review

- Zedd

Good story, so-so dialogue

The plot is interesting enough, but there's a lot of monologue exposition and flowery dialogue
Read full review

- David Glease

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-01-2017
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited