Catskinner's Book : The Book of Lost Doors

  • by Misha Burnett
  • Narrated by Brandon McKernan
  • Series: The Book of Lost Doors
  • 6 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Catskinner's Book is a science fiction/urban fantasy audiobook set in a surreal world unlike any that you have seen before. James Ozryck has a monster in his head. All of his life the entity that he calls "Catskinner" has made him a fugitive, afraid to get too close to anyone, afraid to stay in one place for too long.
Catskinner kills, without compassion and without warning, and is very good at it. Now James has learned that Catskinner is not the only monster in the world, a world that has suddenly become a far stranger and more dangerous place than he imagined. In order to survive he will have to become something more than a monster, he will have to learn what it means to be human.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fabulous story, great reader

When this story first started, it reminded me of Joseph Nassise's Jeremiah Hunt Chronicles--stories I particularly enjoy. However, it quickly carved it's own niche and took a different direction to that I was expecting. I was glad of that.

The concept is an interesting one. Catskinner is a fantastically dangerous character capable of extreme violence and lives in the head of the much more reasonable James. I won't go into any more detail from here. It's a world worth delving into. Misha Burnett has written some fantastic characters in a dangerous situation. What I loved was the way they grow and evolve throughout the story, the situations they are in molding their personalities.

My only complaint would be that it just isn't long enough. I want to be immersed in that world for much longer, get to know the characters even better. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and look forward to listening to more in the series.

Brandon McKernan brings these characters to life with lively, entertaining narration. A great audiobook.
Read full review

- Annette Wright

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-11-2013
  • Publisher: Michael Burnett