Chasing Embers

  • by James Bennett
  • Narrated by Colin Mace
  • 14 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Behind every myth, there is a spark of truth....
There's nothing special about Ben Garston. He's just a guy with an attitude in a beaten-up leather jacket, drowning his sorrows about his ex in a local bar. Or so he'd have you believe. What Ben Garston can't let you know is that he's also known as Red Ben. He can't let you know that the world of myth and legend isn't as make-believe as you think, and it's his job to keep that a secret. And there's no way he can let you know what's really hiding beneath his skin....
But not even Ben knows what kind of hell is about to break loose. Because the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered. Something's been hiding in the heart of the city - and it's about to be unleashed.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Disappointingly verbose

The ideas behind this book were really fun but it was nearly ruined by dragging description of EVERYTHING. You could cut half the words out of the book and you'd have a fun read/listen.

Unfortunately the narrator was also poor; it seemed as though hey were trying to make each sentence sound even more dramatic than the last which, frankly, got a bit wearing.
Read full review

- Verity

Entertaining but maudlin

I enjoyed the premise of the story and the (very expansive) world created to contain it but can't help thinking the story could have been told in half the time. Having a certain level of introspection is one of the great things that sets books apart from films but this work takes it to extremes and, along with Gartston's overwhelmingly poetic, morose and morbid bent, makes the whole experience seem to just drag on (pun intended). It sort of reminds me of American Gods (which I'll admit I didn't enjoy) but trying too hard. I'd like to hear more from this series but only with a significant change of pace.
Read full review

- G. J. Krupa

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-09-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK