Children of Dune : Dune Saga

  • by Frank Herbert
  • Narrated by Scott Brick, Simon Vance
  • Series: Dune Saga
  • 16 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The sand-blasted world of Arrakis has become green, watered, and fertile. Old Paul Atreides, who led the desert Fremen to political and religious domination of the galaxy, is gone. But for the children of Dune, the very blossoming of their land contains the seeds of its own destruction. The altered climate is destroying the giant sandworms, and this in turn is disastrous for the planet's economy. Leto and Ghanima, Paul Atreides's twin children and his heirs, can see possible solutions - but fanatics begin to challenge the rule of the all-powerful Atreides empire, and more than economic disaster threatens.


What the Critics Say

"Ranging from palace intrigue and desert chases to religious speculation and confrontations with the supreme intelligence of the universe, there is something here for all science fiction fans." (Publishers Weekly)
"A major event." (Los Angeles Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Slightly Bizarre but will read #4.

I loved the first two books, but this one made me wonder if Frank had lost the plot a little. It has the usual great machinations of state and family along with some decent action, but in what must have been the last hundred pages, the plot takes a turn, which I will not spoil here, that reveals to some part the destiny of Leto, the child of Paul Atreides. For me, the revelation seemed slightly ridiculous and not in keeping with the previous two books universe. Despite this, it is as well read as ever and the story kept me interested enough to move on to the fourth in the series.
Read full review

- Peter


I liked the first book, the second book was challenging but I couldn't bring myself to waste time to finish listening to this utter bollocks!!!! Avoid this unless you enjoy wasting time listening to intricately worded cyclical drivel, the dialogue is certainly 'of the time' in which it was written and it has aged badly.
Read full review

- Mr S Harrison

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-02-2008
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio