Children of the Deterrent

  • by Ian W. Sainsbury
  • Narrated by Sam Phillips, Jaimi Barbakoff
  • 9 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The new novel by the author of the best-selling The World Walker series.
'My name is Daniel Harbin, and I'm a child of The Deterrent.'
What if a superhuman turned out not to be so super...or even human? Britain's superhero, The Deterrent, was unveiled to the world in 1979 and disappeared two years later. The truth about his origins has never been revealed. The rumours about his children - those that survived - and their mysterious abilities have never been confirmed. Until now.
Armed with a diary that reveals everything about The Deterrent's early years, Daniel Harbin - discovering powers of his own - finds himself dragged into the same secretive government department his famous father worked for. Can a halfhero be a better superhero than his father, or is Daniel making a terrible mistake? When the wrong people know what you're capable of, no matter how powerful you are, you're still in danger....


What the Critics Say

"I've read it now, Children of the Deterrent that is and's good. It's really good. Oh my days it's good.... From the opening page, I was seriously gripped. In fact, for the first time in years, I put my own work aside and pushed my deadlines back a bit to make time to read it. I even did that reader thing of going to bed early, just so I could get stuck back into it." (R R Haywood)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not your average superhero story

This was the first book I’ve encountered by this author, it’s very well written and the narration is spot on.
The story moves along at a good pace and keeps the listener hooked throughout.
I’d recommend the book
Read full review

- paul allison

Brilliant Book

loved it and was engrossed from start to finish. would recommend this to anyone with a love of action with a little sci-fi and superheroes thrown in.
Read full review

- Christian Lewis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-02-2018
  • Publisher: Audible Studios