Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen : Abhorsen/The Old Kingdom

  • by Garth Nix
  • Narrated by Graeme Malcolm
  • Series: Abhorsen/The Old Kingdom
  • 11 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The long-awaited fourth audiobook in the New York Times best-selling Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix.
Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.
Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the King. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the King?

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Gleeful Return to the Old Kingdom

What did you like most about Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen?

I loved getting back into the lore and magic system of the Charter. It is a good standalone novel as it has left me wanting more and I am now listening to the previous trilogy.


What did you like best about this story?

Exploring the Old Kingdom's history and Moggett!


What about Graeme Malcolm’s performance did you like?

He's not Tim Curry, but a very good narrator; he kept me interested.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I did, pretty much. Only took me two days.


Any additional comments?

There wasn't enough Moggett in it, like many people he is my favourite charecter. It was nice however to see the slightly more evil side of him. The book is great, don't get me wrong.. but there was something lacking.. Even after I finished the book I was unsure of why Clariel becomes and I hope there is possibly more books to fill in more adventuires of Clariel.

Read full review

- Jonny

The Weakest In The Abhorsen Series

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Overall, this book left me with a feeling of disappointment. Perhaps, I'm being a little unfair as it is a decent story but it falls well beneath the high standards set by the other books in the series. For these reasons, I would not recommend it to a friend


Have you listened to any of Graeme Malcolm’s other performances? How does this one compare?

This is the first time I have listened to a story read by Graeme Malcolm and I enjoyed his performance. He handled each character adequately and I especially liked his interpretation of the Free Magic creatures.


Read full review

- Tim

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-10-2014
  • Publisher: Listening Library