Cold Black Hearts

  • by Jeffrey J. Mariotte
  • Narrated by Tamara McDaniel
  • 8 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The ruins on the border of New Mexico and Mexico were once the bustling town of New Dominion. But in 1933, most of its population was massacred - and no one was ever arrested for the brutal crime. Now, the land once known as New Dominion is the site of more recent murders. Former police detective Annie O’Brien, blessed-or cursed-with a heightened sense of empathy, is conducting the investigation. Staying alone in an old house near the desolate remains of the town, she finds herself haunted by the tragedies that occurred there - tragedies that threaten to overwhelm her unusual gift even as New Dominion threatens to rise from the ashes. This audio adaptation of Mariotte’s supernatural thriller will keep listeners desperate to learn what happens next.


What the Critics Say

“This is Mariotte's great talent: His writing hooks you, and you just have to see how things end. And Annie, much in the vein of the maverick lady investigators and interrogators that populate cable television, is sassy, interesting and smart - and not afraid to risk her reputation, her relationships or even her life to get to the bottom of something.” (Julia Ramey, Tucson Weekly)
“You won’t find the excesses in this novel that you would see in most small press horror or even some of the newer mass market releases; it seems that Marriotte prefers to present his horror laden with atmosphere and emotion rather than the grotesque. That’s not to imply that there isn’t plenty of action and some vivid descriptions of carnage to be found in these pages, there is, but it doesn’t feel exploitive. It is the strength of Mariotte’s writing that initially keep the readers turning the pages and it’s the bond he manages to form between the reader and Annie that keeps us interested until the end.” (Tony Tremblay,


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-11-2011
  • Publisher: ILT Publishing