Dawnbreaker : Legends of the Duskwalker

  • by Jay Posey
  • Narrated by Luke Daniels
  • Series: Legends of the Duskwalker
  • 17 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The final audiobook in the acclaimed Duskwalker trilogy.
Wren is living in Greenstone under the temporary care of Charles and Mol and the protection of Chapel. Unable to determine the fate of his mother and those he left behind in Morningside, Wren believes there is nothing left to do but wait for Asher's final blow...until a man named Haiku walks into the Samurai McGann, looking for Three. After learning of Three's fate, Asher's ascension, and Wren's gift, Haiku offers his help, and together they set out to find the remnants of House Eight and convince them to help. As Cass and the few who survived the fall of Morningside face overwhelming odds to escape Asher and the Weir, they realize it is impossible...until their daring and probably suicidal plan to strike turns out to have surprising results and unexpected discoveries.
Back in Greenstone, one of the border cities likely facing Asher's next assault, Charles uses his network of influence to try to create a city defense.
Jay Posey is a narrative designer, author, and screenwriter by trade. He started working in the video game industry in 1998 and has been writing professionally for over a decade. He's spent around eight years writing and designing for Tom Clancy's award-winning Ghost Recon and Rainbow Six franchises. Jay has lectured at conferences, colleges, and universities on topics ranging from basic creative-writing skills to advanced material specific to the video game industry.


What the Critics Say

"The post-apocalyptic world that Jay Posey created in Three is brilliantly constructed, it's just chock-full of the cool stuff, futuristic gadgets (guns and the like), augmented people and not forget the Weir." (The Book Plank)
"Three is a fantastic piece of post-apocalyptic fiction...simply stunning from beginning to end." (SFBook.com)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A neat conclusion, tied the trilogy up nicely.

I know a number of people did not much care for Morningside Fall (and I would agree that it was the weakest of the three stories) but after reading Dawnbreaker, I feel much better about it. Essentially as it was a necessary vehicle to introduce Gamble, Mouse and company. I think that if you liked Three at all, you will get into this with some ease.

This book gives you a bit of a glimpse into the background that many felt the trilogy was lacking. It builds up to a significant ending which I struggled to believe was going to happen with only 2 hours to go.

If I had a criticism, there was too much faffing about at the start of the book and it wound up too quickly, for example, they spend a couple of narration hours escaping a building and running to a shelter but the final showdown is about 30 minutes.

Overall though, I enjoyed this as much as 'Three', I felt the main characters had been richly portrayed and I felt myself rooting for them all. I'm glad I consumed all 3 books and will look out for more Jay Posey in the future.

I really enjoyed the narration from Jeff Daniels, he has joined Sean Barrett at the top of my favourites list.
Read full review

- Skeggman

Fantastic series with perfect narration

This is a very well crafted series of novels - in some ways it feels derivative - there are several familiar elements but those elements are combined so expertly, with strong characterisation and great pacing. I cannot recommend this series highly enough, if you find yourself a little confused at the outset stick with it, just strap yourself in and enjoy the ride.
Read full review

- Dermot

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-10-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios