Death World : Undying Mercenaries

  • by B. V. Larson
  • Narrated by Mark Boyett
  • Series: Undying Mercenaries
  • 13 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Unknown aliens attack Earth. Their planet is uncharted, mysteriously having avoided detection for centuries. It's a world packed with the most vicious aliens humanity has yet to encounter. James McGill has discovered: Death World.
In the fifth book of the Undying Mercenaries series, the war comes home, and aliens strike a devastating blow. Bent on revenge, Legion Varus chases the raiders to the stars and discovers a growing alien menace. A cancerous species has invaded our region of the galaxy and must be dealt with. McGill learns why the Cephalopod Kingdom has yet to attack Earth and what's happening behind the scenes in the Core Worlds. Throughout, he upholds his unique sense of right, wrong, and honor. Death World is a military science fiction novel by best-selling author B. V. Larson.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Damm it, McGill!

McGill is back!
pulling out all the trick up his sleeves this time to fend off multiple enemies!
more twist and double crossing then you can shake a stick at!
Read full review

- Ashrak

No Ewoks In This Forest!

Now I've finished the fifth and currently last available part of B V Larson's Undying Mercenaries series I am hungry for more. I was lucky to have stumbled upon this series when it stood at five books and so could gorge myself on them all one right after the other. In order to satisfy my appetite for B V Larson work and looking for a big series to tide me over until part six of this series becomes available I've switched to the Star Force series and am reading the first book in that established saga. Prior to finding the Undying Mercenaries series I had not read anything by Larson but have now come to regard him as one of my favourite science fiction writers. based on the release schedules on his website I'm hoping that this prolific author will soon be delivering what I suspect might be called Throne World upon all those like me eagerly awaiting the next chapter in this excellent series.

So, Death World sees our established group of characters once more in all kinds of trouble with a new alien threat and one that promises to have the potential to be more aggressive than even the Cephalopod Kingdom. Larson once more comes up with a novel and imaginative collection of nasties to do battle with as legion Varus gets into difficulties with the new threat.

Unlike the previous three books, Death World takes a little longer to get going while family matters are dealt with. However, once the main plot kicks in the action is fast paced and holds the readers interest with Larson's usual aplomb. I enjoy the way Larson depicts an alien world with plenty of thought and detail that truly makes the planet an exotic and dangerous environment that fires one's imagination.

James McGill as ever finds himself in the thick of things and bending the rules as he goes along. The fighting is hard and brutal and methods to achieve goals within the legion are often harsh too. Fortifying the military aspect of this story as with others in the series is the background political machinations of some key officers and other nefarious characters that all add to a immersive mix with some clever character developments as loyalties and ambition collide with the need to do the right thing.

I hope that Larson creates a series of stories in the Undying Mercenaries novels that becomes as extensive as Larson's Star Force books. There is plenty of potential in the series to make for real space opera. I cannot say that I have read a series that has been so entertaining, enthralling and consistently good.

As usual with my take on reviews, I need to point out a couple of errors in the story. Near the start of the book Dust World is referred to as Gamma Pavonis which is incorrect. Gamma Pavonis was Machine World. later, Centurion Graves is once referred to as Captain Graves. Again, very minor things but just something I had to mention and in no way is a detractor from the excellence of the story.

Mark Boyett's narration is superb and has been consistently so throughout the series. he is able to clearly and distinctly render different characters which greatly enhance the story-telling.

Death World is another great read from Larson which has left me wanting more and fast!!
Read full review

- S. Morris

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-08-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios