Exiled Fleet : Exiled Fleet

  • by Richard Fox
  • Narrated by Mark Boyett
  • Series: Exiled Fleet
  • 14 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Book 1: Albion Lost:
For centuries, the Daegon waited. They plotted. And now they are ready to strike.
The core worlds of settled space enjoy a tenuous peace, unaware and ill prepared for the threat building beyond the furthest reaches of humanity. The star kingdom of Albion stands as a shining light of justice and mercy in a harsh galaxy, and they will be the first to suffer the Daegon's fury.
Defying his low born status, and despite his self-doubt, Commodore Thomas Gage has risen through the ranks by sheer grit and determination, defending Albion from brutal pirate clans. And when the onslaught comes, Gage and his fleet may be Albion's last hope for freedom.
Book 2: The Long March:
Albion burns beneath Daegon rule.
Commodore Thomas Gage and his fleet, safeguarding the last of the Albion Royal Family, are on the run. Hunting them, a ruthless Daegon commander will stop at nothing to crush Albion's only remaining free force.
To find sanctuary beyond their enemy's reach, the battle-damaged fleet must cut through a hostile and dangerous region of space known as the Kigeli Nebula. But to secure passage, Gage must strike a deal with an old enemy who wants nothing more than to fulfill a vendetta and see the commodore dead.
Facing threats ahead, behind and from within, Gage must lead his fleet down the long march to freedom.
Exiled Fleet is a new military science-fiction series for fans of Honor Harrington, Earth Alone, and Old Man's War from the author of the best-selling Ember War Saga.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

brilliant

loved it, great Arthur and narrator. start left me wanting more can't wait to list to the next book
Read full review

- Stenny

Has all the ingredients, just not baked very well

This story had some great pieces to it. Some great characters and an interesting if not slightly convoluted story line. But with all the potential, it missed the mark in my opinion.

The enemies are classic stupid enemies falling for every device imaginable, and the hero is a typical hero with little originality to the twist and turns. Apart from one nice scene when a fighter crashes into the side of the enemy ship, the battles felt formulaic and run of the mill in the extreme. No excitement or emotional involvement for the reader at all.

It is like a lovely looking cake that is dry and flavourless with every disappointing mouthful. On a few occasions I was actually bored listening to this, and only persevered because of the previous good reviews and a great narrator.

It is a shame because there are elements which were great, like the AI armour, which I wish had been explored more. A really interesting concept that I wanted to know more about.

The narrator was brilliant. The voices and pacing were excellent and without such good narration I probably would have abandoned this book. Mark Boyett is a star!
Read full review

- PaulD

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-10-2017
  • Publisher: Podium Publishing