Falling Free : Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)

  • by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Narrated by Grover Gardner
  • Series: Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)
  • 8 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Leo Graf was just your average highly efficient engineer: mind your own business, fix what's wrong, and move on to the next job. But all that changed on his assignment to the Cay Habitat, where a group of humanoids had been secretly, commercially bioengineered for working in free fall.Could he just stand there and allow the exploitation of hundreds of helpless children merely to enhance the bottom line of a heartless mega-corporation?He hadn't anticipated a situation where the right thing to do was neither safe, nor in the rules. Leo adopted a thousand quaddies. Now all he had to do was teach them to be free.


What the Critics Say

Nebula Award Finalist, Best Novel, 1988
"Superb....Read, or you will be missing something extraordinary." (Chicago Sun-Times)
"Bujold's best work in my opinion." (Science Fiction Chronicle)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good old-fashioned science fiction

Straightforward and fun: engineers are good, managers are bad, individuals good, corporations bad. Like much sci-fi of the era, it oozes with optimistic projections of American values of that time - don't look for any modern political correctness Some nice sci-fi ideas, and a story the trots along cheerfully, if a little implausibly.

The reader was no better than OK, but didn't get in the way too much.
Read full review

- Alex "Some books I listen to with my children. Some I listen to alone."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-09-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.