Fated : Alex Verus

  • by Benedict Jacka
  • Narrated by Gildart Jackson
  • Series: Alex Verus
  • 10 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Camden, North London: A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads, and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle.
In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won't sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you're looking for, he might just be able to help. That's if he's not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum.
Fated is the first book in a major new series starring probability mage Alex Verus, for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.

More

What the Critics Say

"Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list. Fated is an excellent novel, a gorgeously realized world with a uniquely powerful, vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the storytelling business in the first place" (Jim Butcher)
"Filled with tense and compelling writing" (SFX)
"Jacka writes a deft thrill-ride of an urban fantasy - a stay-up-all-night read. Alex Verus is a very smart man surviving in a very dangerous world." (Patricia Briggs)
"London's hidden wizardly community spell-blast each other entertainingly in this urban fantasy romp. Fated is highly enjoyable" (Sun)
"Fated is an excellent example of not just great urban fantasy but also of brilliant story-telling. There is a near perfect mix of everything and it has been masterfully crafted with a meticulous eye for those pieces of humanity that make a great protagonist and a fantastic story" (FANTASY FACTION)
"A novel with a very good plotline, and fascinating characters" (BOOKCHICKCITY)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not for me

I gave this a try thinking it might be in the same mould as ben aaronovitch. There is no humour, story line is predictable, characters are rubbish and the fact it is set in Camden has no bearing on the story whatsoever.
Read full review

- EmmaHughes

Huge Disappointment

I was recommended this as a fan of Ben Aaronovitch's Rivers of London books and Jim Butcher's Dresden Files and I was in such hope of a new series. Such a disappointment. The plot is thin, the characters are two dimensional, the writing is really bad and the dialogue is just dire. To compare it to Aaronovitch is to insult Ben. It feels like a teenage girl writing in her bedroom and is on a level with Twilight and 50 Shades (badly written drivel by the barely literate). I got to the end somehow (it had to get better, surely?) but there were a lot of derisive snorts and phone thrown down in exasperation. If I could have slapped the drippy female character I would have done.
The narrator did his best but he was too old really which didn't help.
There are plenty of good reviews so it's obviously popular stuff but I wish I'd read a few of the bad ones and saved myself some time. I've given it back, which is the ultimate bad review after all.
Read full review

- Sue

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-09-2014
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK