Fated : Alex Verus

  • by Benedict Jacka
  • Narrated by Gildart Jackson
  • Series: Alex Verus
  • 10 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Camden, North London: A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads, and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle.
In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won't sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you're looking for, he might just be able to help. That's if he's not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum.
Fated is the first book in a major new series starring probability mage Alex Verus, for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.

More

What the Critics Say

"Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list. Fated is an excellent novel, a gorgeously realized world with a uniquely powerful, vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the storytelling business in the first place" (Jim Butcher)
"Filled with tense and compelling writing" (SFX)
"Jacka writes a deft thrill-ride of an urban fantasy - a stay-up-all-night read. Alex Verus is a very smart man surviving in a very dangerous world." (Patricia Briggs)
"London's hidden wizardly community spell-blast each other entertainingly in this urban fantasy romp. Fated is highly enjoyable" (Sun)
"Fated is an excellent example of not just great urban fantasy but also of brilliant story-telling. There is a near perfect mix of everything and it has been masterfully crafted with a meticulous eye for those pieces of humanity that make a great protagonist and a fantastic story" (FANTASY FACTION)
"A novel with a very good plotline, and fascinating characters" (BOOKCHICKCITY)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Better than I expected

very well written and well read. I was pleasantly surprised by how good a story it was after reading some of the reviews. while not being as London has the Rivers of London and as funny like the Iron Druid and Dresden Files. A very good book, will try the others in the series.
Read full review

- Tod Werewolf

Hope Audible gets the rest of this series :)

Pros: great story, brilliantly written, lots of imagination, made me want to listen to the whole thing in one sitting, Patricia Briggs and Jim Butcher rec this one, I'd listen to it again and have requested the series which I'm told gets even better also, unusually for this kind of genre, there are several really well written female side characters. Cons I spent the first twenty minutes in complete frustration because the initial plot feels like a massive rip off of the Dresden Files (it soon moves away from that, keep listening as the seer aspect is really interesting) and that also led to the comparison of the narrator with James Masters and really the best you can hope for is a draw with that kind of competition. After I'd listened for a while I decided that I really liked Gilbert Jackson. I would happily buy books with Jackson as a narrator again but you need to listen to a sample for yourself as some people were very unhappy.
Read full review

- nicole

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-09-2014
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK