Editor reviews

Fear the Sky is Book 1 in the hugely popular The Fear Saga series written by Stephen Moss and narrated in this unabridged epic fantasy audiobook by Audie award-winning nominee R. C. Bray. Listeners are engrossed as the battle for earth begins. A million-strong alien army burn through space towards Earth in their unimaginable war crafts. The nations of Earth join forces. All people must unite their weapons and manpower to fight as one in the largest war Earth has ever seen. There is nowhere to hide. Everyone must turn to face the advancing aliens and save the human race from destruction. Available now from Audible.
Show More Show Less

Summary

"Real science in Science Fiction. This is a must read for fans of SF."
—John S. Gertsch, Amazon Reviewer

Perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton, Iain M. Banks, and Orson Scott Card, Fear the Sky is a hard-hitting sci-fi thriller that will have you looking at the stars in a different way.
In eleven years time, a million members of an alien race will arrive at Earth. Years before they enter orbit, their approach will be announced by the flare of a thousand flames in the sky, their ships' huge engines burning hard to slow them from the vast speeds needed to cross interstellar space. These foreboding lights will shine in our night sky like new stars, getting ever brighter until they outshine even the sun, casting ominous shadows and banishing the night until they suddenly blink out. Their technology is vastly superior to ours, and they know they cannot possibly lose the coming conflict. But they, like us, have found no answer to the destructive force of the atom, and they have no intention of facing the onslaught of our primitive nuclear arsenal, or the devastation it would wreak on the planet they crave. So they have flung out an advanced party in front of them, hidden within one of the countless asteroids randomly roaming the void. They do not want us, they want our planet. Their Agents are arriving.
©2014 Stephen Moss (P)2015 Podium Publishing
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £37.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £37.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By stucody on 22-03-15

Very Entertaining

What did you like about this audiobook?

I throughly enjoyed this audiobook. Not being a big fan of Scif, I was hesitant on getting this book, but the whole idea of alien invasion grabbed my attention, and from the start I couldn't stop listening.

How has the book increased your interest in the subject matter?

I am now looking for other books about Alien invasion.

Does the author present information in a way that is interesting and insightful, and if so, how does he achieve this?

The book could have done with some heavy editing, but overall it didn't spoil or distract from a great story.

What did you find wrong about the narrator's performance?

The narrator was perfect. Having listened to him on The Martian, I knew what to expect from his voice, and he certainly didn't disappoint on this book.

Do you have any additional comments?

Highly recommend for everyone to give this book a try.

Read more Hide me

34 of 40 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By mac on 18-03-15

Us vs them, at its best.

I'm a sucker for earth invasion sf and this was right up my street. Rooted in a real sense of plausibility and science knowledge, this story moves through the gears and keeps you hooked. Love how the invasion is discovered bit by bit and knowledge of it known by a very few. I know books 2 and 3 are out there to read but I'm hoping the Audio books will be out soon, cos the narration is perfect in its sense of suspense.

Read more Hide me

42 of 50 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Brian Perry on 21-07-15

Caught me by surprise, and held me till the end.

Every now and then I like to peruse a narrator's work to see if they might have narrated something else I'd be interested in, and on a whim I grabbed Fear the Sky expecting a middling sci-fi story, I'll be honest the cover art looked like a C level self publish job. But RC Bray did a great job with the martian so why not.

And then the book grabbed me and pulled me through the 20 odd hours till I was wondering why the heck the other two book werent on audible yet because I wanted more.

Read more Hide me

74 of 79 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By ByEqualMeasure on 14-09-15

Audible Where Are The Rest?!

I really enjoyed Fear The Sky. The plot is original and character development is so good as we watch a young man turn into a hero through hard work and force of will. I was invested in the series immediately. I knew the author had completed at least three books in the Fear Series so I felt comfortable with my investment. (waiting for a good series to publish the next one is something I try to avoid!)
Yet now as I go to get the other two bestselling books in Mr. Moss's series I discover they are not available through Audible!? Each book is a best-seller on it's own and several years old. The narrator is putting our new works. The thing is it is not just one series. I myself have the same issue with three GREAT series Audible starts then dropped.
I am very eager to continue : Trevor H. Cooley's, Bowl of Souls series is completed through book 8 yet only 3 are available on Audible, each VERY successful and Author Sara King has a popular bestselling series thar Audible only taped one of.
Still, this book deserves 5 stars and is worth the cost.
Beware when you're looking for a good series, just because this series has been completed and the narrator is working do not assume Audible has picked up

Read more Hide me

296 of 322 people found this review helpful

See all reviews